My life in Italy

Here's the 411 on my life here in Milano....

I have been here now for a little over 2 months. I live in a 2 bedroom apartment in the "Citta Studi" neighborhood which is well known for it's plentiful population of university students. I live with 2 people, one boy named Alfonso from Naples, 25, just finished at Polytecnico of Engineering and is working in a bank. And I share my room with Daniela from Bergamo, 25, also just finished college and is working in real estate. Alfonso and I are better friends just because Daniela returns home every weekend to visit her family and boyfriend.

As for school, class began today (yes it is November now). I am taking 7 classes all intently focused in graphic design or a relation to the field. Every student (with exception to a few international students) and every teacher is Italian so obviously every class is taught in Italian. So far, it has been challenging but not impossible to understand what is going on in the class. I have to listen 5 times harder than the rest of the students while I attempt to write down keywords that I understand. My school is a small and private art school composed of 1,000 students and teachers that are all working professionals in the field that they teach.

If you're wondering what I've been during my extremely excessive and long vacation, I have been adapting myself to the city, attempting to travel, befriending new people and bonding with old friends. So far, I have traveled to Munich, Rome, Bergamo, Perugia, Lake Como, and Portofino. Not a satisfactory list but it will grow as the year goes on. Also, I am teaching violin and english to a little 6 year old girl. I met her and her father while I was riding the metro and I heard them talking to each other about the violin and about her school. They asked me to give her private lessons after I told them I have been playing violin for almost 10 years. Now 2-3 times a week, I spend a few hours with her playing the violin, reading, doing math, or playing games. They pay me a nice stipend hourly and they pay in euros, so it's a legit little side gig. I have had offers to teach a couple other children english and will be planning to do so in the near future.

Anyways, there's just a little update on what I've been doing over here. I've been keeping busy and working on my Italian all the while. I miss everyone so much and wish I could share all my experiences with every one of you. I hope you're all doing fabulously in your respective cities. Please write me if you get a chance, it's always nice to hear from someone at home. Love you all and I'll be in touch with you soon!